Each year it’s tradition that I bake almost 1000 Christmas cookies to give out to family/friends/co-workers for the holidays. I have been doing this for about 7 years now, and I thoroughly enjoy it…most of the time! I love baking anise and tri-color Italian cookies with recipes passed down from my Grandma Millie; I love baking a new cookie each year and seeing how it turns out, and I absolutely LOVE taste testing!  I also  really like having an excuse to whip out my KitchenAid stand mixer, which otherwise stands its ground firmly in my pantry for the remainder of the year…

However, this year, I decided that I wasn’t going to bake any cookies. I figured with a newborn and three year old everyone would understand! But that idea didn’t last long…

First, I decided to just bake tri-color cookies. Although they’re the most time consuming, they are the ones that everyone goes crazy over. I started by baking 3 batches last Saturday, and I said I was done, but then I found my grandma’s handwritten anise cookie recipe card, and I knew I had to at least bake those as well for her (and my father who adores them!).

After I made the anise cookies I was talking to Jeremy, and he so kindly reminded me of how delicious my sugar cookies are, so I whipped up a batch of those too! THEN, I found my mint chocolate chunk recipe, and I HAD to make those as well…

So I winded up going from making NO cookies to making THREE trays full of cookies and still having leftovers. I did omit some of my favorite recipes this year (peanut butter drops, devils chocolate cookies), but I did wind up making close to 500 cookies and three lovely trays!

I had an awesome sous chef too…little Miss Sadie slept happily in her Moby wrap while I wore her around baking like crazy! I can’t wait until she can actually help me make these cookies and I can pass down my grandma’s recipes to her…

 

 

IMG_1700 IMG_1666

