Music is something that has always been near and dear to me…it’s like it’s in my blood! Maybe it was from my dad’s amazing singing growing up or of course, Grandma Millie’s “na na na” song, but music has always held a special place in my heart! I did play the piano at one point, and spent YEARS playing the clarinet, but even just listening to music is something that I’ve always just loved! It calms me down…makes me happy…

I’ve always known that I wanted to instill music into the lives of my kids, but with Brody, it was a given! He has ALWAYS loved anything related to music. In fact, the only way he would fall asleep when he was a baby was if I would play a mix CD of songs from classical melodies to country songs! This went on for at least 2 years…over and over! HAHA! We did a music class with him when he was younger, but I think he was a bit too young to really appreciate/like it!! Regardless, we alway play instruments at home, have nightly “dance parties” at his request, sing, rock out etc… EVERY.SINGLE.DAY. Sadie is certainly following in his footsteps, as she LOVES to put on the keybroard by herself, start the music and dance!

Brody has been asking to learn to play and instrument and it was solidified after he spent a long weekend at pappy’s house, who, is also an amazing singer and guitarist! He brought out his guitar for Brody and together they sang/played countless songs (I have a few recorded and it’s SOO CUTE!). He came home asking if he could learn to play the guitar like paps, so I knew it was time to look into something!

I still think at 4 he is a bit too young for one on one private lessons of any type, so I was THRILLED when I found the Little Wings music program at the School of Rock in Easton. They focus on teaching music, in a fun, innovative way! I signed him right up and he attended his first class last Sunday. To say that he LOVED every second of it is an understatement!

His first request was if he could learn how to play the tuba…the teachers cracked up and thought this was hysterical! They rotated playing lots of instruments, but I think his favorite was playing the drums. They also played musical instrument sounds and asked the kids to figure out which instrument it was. Brody impressed them with his answers and even distinguished between the regular guitar and the bass guitar – I have no clue how he knows this!!

He was upset when class was over and has asked me to go back every day!!! He loves it and I’m so happy with this class! If you’re looking for a music class for your kids in the lehigh valley area, I highly recommend them!! I look forward to what doors this opens in my little music man’s life…

IMG_8794 IMG_8805 IMG_8822

